Virginia misdemeanors are punished up to a maximum of one year in jail and $250.00 in fines. Virginia misdemeanors are classified as follows.
Class 1 Misdemeanor – Maximum Punishment = 12 months in jail and $2,500 in fines
Class 1 Misdemeanor – Maximum Punishment = 6 months in jail and $1,000 in fines
Class 3 Misdemeanor – Maximum Punishment = $500 in fines
Class 3 Misdemeanor – Maximum Punishment = $250 in fines
Some misdemeanor charges in Virginia may include:
- possession of marijuana and other misdemeanor drug crimes
- Petit (Petty) larceny, shop lifting, and other misdemeanor theft crimes
- Assault and battery, and domestic assault and battery (domestic violence)
- Reckless Driving, DWI / DUI, Driving on a Suspended License, and other traffic offenses
- Destruction of private property or destruction of public property
Henrico County VA, Richmond City, Chesterfield County VA, Hanover County VA, Petersburg County VA, Fairfax County, Prince William County, Hopewell, Petersburg, Dinwiddie, Quantico, Virginia Beach VA, Norfolk, Chesapeake, Fredericksburg, Stafford, Spotsylvania VA, Hampton Roads, Newport News, Hampton, Williamsburg, Amelia, Powhatan, Goochland, Louisa, Manassas VA, Woodbridge, Charles City, James City, Gloucester, Tidewater, Portsmouth, Shenandoah, Prince George, Sussex, New Kent, West End of Richmond, Glen Allen, Federal Court for the Eastern District of Virginia (Richmond, Alexandria, Norfolk, and Newport News Divisions).